Arthritis Research Canada’s Scientists Receive UBC Faculty of Medicine Distinguished Achievement Awards


June 24, 2024 (Vancouver) The University of British Columbia’s (UBC) Faculty of Medicine is recognizing two members of Arthritis Research Canada’s scientific team with their prestigious Distinguished Achievement Awards. Our heartfelt congratulations to Scientific Director, Dr. Diane Lacaille, and Senior Scientist, Dr. Jackie Whittaker.

These awards honour faculty members who demonstrate exceptional contributions to education, research, and service, aligning with the Faculty’s mission to transform health for everyone.

Dr. Diane Lacaille received the Distinguished Achievement Award for Advancement of Equity, Diversity and Inclusiveness. This award celebrates Clinical Faculty members who exhibit an unwavering commitment to fostering equity, diversity, and inclusiveness through their research, teaching, or service.

Dr. Lacaille’s has played a leadership role in advancing equity in the Department of Medicine, as Chair of the Equity Committee, and her research work is addressing health inequities in arthritis care. She is also committed to creating a more inclusive research environment and diversity in research participation.

“I am deeply honoured and thankful to UBC for giving me this award,” said Dr. Lacaille. “Advancing equity, diversity, and inclusiveness in academia, medicine and research is absolutely essential, and this recognition inspires me to continue advocating for these values in all aspects of my work. “

Dr. Jackie Whittaker was awarded the Faculty of Medicine Distinguished Achievement Award for Overall Excellence – Mid-Career. This accolade acknowledges her exemplary performance and significant contributions at this pivotal stage in her career. Dr. Whittaker’s innovative research in osteoarthritis prevention and leadership of the international OPTIKNEE consensus have distinguished her as a leader in her field.

“This award motivates me to further my efforts in research and continue to strive for excellence,” said Dr. Whittaker. “I am thankful for this recognition, the collaborative spirit of my colleagues, and ongoing support from the Department of Physical Therapy and Faculty of Medicine at UBC.”

To learn more about these awards click here.

– 30 –



Arthritis Research Canada is the largest clinical arthritis research institution in North America. Our mission is to transform the lives of people living with arthritis through research and engagement. Arthritis Research Canada’s scientific director, Dr. Diane Lacaille, is leading a team of over 100 researchers, trainees and staff whose life-changing research is creating a future where people living with arthritis have the knowledge and tools to triumph over pain and disability. Arthritis Research Canada is now conducting arthritis research from coast to coast with centres in British Columbia, Alberta, Quebec, and Nova Scotia and scientists affiliated with seven major universities: University of British Columbia, Simon Fraser University, University of Calgary, Université Laval, McGill University, Université de Montréal, and Dalhousie University. Arthritis Research Canada is leading research aimed at preventing arthritis, facilitating early diagnosis, finding new and better treatments, and improving quality of life.

For more information or to arrange an interview, please contact:

 Victoria Rubio 

Marketing and Communications Officer, Arthritis Research Canada

604-207-4010 or vrubio@arthritisresearch.ca


Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!